Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll

I am the furthest person from the rock and roll lifestyle…possibly on the planet, but no, the film! I watched it last night!!

picture266

This is a film about the life of Ian Dury (well sort of…it’s a good section of his life but there’s a good few flashbacks to his childhood and so forth). I can’t pretend i’m a huge Ian Dury fan because i guess he wasn’t my generation. What i have heard, i like!! My first experience with him was Drip Fed Fred which is a song he sang with Madness (who i am a big fan of!) Safe to say my dad knew a lot more than me!

He seemed complete convinced and chilled watching it, it took me a few minutes to get used to the fact that Ian Dury was an interesting character to say the least!! More like rather insane from the looks of things xD I always knew he’d had polio but i was never very wised up on the illness myself, it doesn’t focus on it at all but it’s obviously referred to throughout the film! Also cool to see where the origins of some of his best known songs came from!

Having maybe not been a huge fan of Ian Dury before this film i was, however, i big fan of the lovely Mr Andy Serkis who plays him!! He is extremely brilliant in it and it’s nice to see him in a film where you can see his face xD! Seeing as he’s probably most famous for the motion capture (and of course voice) of Gollum (even if we did see his face for 5 minutes in the opening sequence to Return of the King as Smeagol), teaming up with Peter Jackson again for Tintin and King Kong (playing Kong too! Though i think he does play a cook or something too!) and then donning the monkey characteristics again for Caesar in Rise of the Planet of the Apes!

I remember seeing him too in Einstein and Eddington, playing Einstein, with David Tennant as Eddington! Very much enjoyed that!

My dad says he looks a lot like a young Ian Dury in the film, which upon googling him i found to be right hehe! Andy Serkis sings all the songs throughout too! Very well!

I’d recommend the film though it does serve well to it’s title! For a 15 rating there certainly is a LOT of sex and drugs and rock and roll..and swearing..LOTS of that! :’)

Another warning, you will not get the songs out of your head for days!

Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll

Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick

Drip Fed Fred (With Madness)

“Rhythm is the longest word in the English without any vowels in it”

Leave a comment